top of page

YAPA Advisors, Mentors & Speakers

Advisors & Mentors:

  • Henry Yin President, APAPA Bay Area Region

  • Eleanor Yick former Superintendent of Mountain View Whisman School District, President of the LWV of  Southwest Santa Clara Valley  

  • Anthony Ng Executive Director, Civic Leadership USA (CL-USA) 

  • Dr. Becki Cohn-Vargas Ed.D. Consultant and Author of Identity Safe Classrooms, Places to Belong and Learn, and Former Director of Not In Our School National Bullying Prevention Program, Former Superintendent, Luther Burbank School District

  • Dr. Clifton M. Der Bing, PsyD Licensed Psychologist, Campus Psychologist at Foothill College

  • Rhoda Fry Bay Area for Clean Environment member, Cupertino Environmental Review Committee, appointed member emeritus. B. S. Applied Mathematics

  • Tak Allen President of the International Faith-Based Coalition, President of the National Congress of Racial Equality.

  • Trudy Gross Associate Superintendent, FUHSD

  • Michael Goldman Sunnyvale City Council

  • Sudha Kasamsetty Cupertino Art Commission Chair

  • Gopal Kumarappan Cupertino Parks & Rec Commissioner, former Library Commissioner & Chair, Head of Engineering@ Adobe.“

  • Rosalyn Moya Project Director, Bay Area Community Resources

  • Tanya Payyappilly Project Director, Tobacco Prevention Program, Breathe California

  • Ana Sucaldito Program Coordinator for Asian Festival Health and Wellness Internship, Founder of KindCarts Service Initiative

  • Don Tran County of Santa Clara Health

  • Dr. Albert Wang, MD Internist and Board of Directors at Palo Alto Foundation Medical Group, Vice Chair of National Governing Board of Asian Pacific American Public Affairs Association (APAPA), Founder of Friends of Children with Special Needs (FCSN)

  • Hung Wei Cupertino City Council, former Board Member of Fremont Union High School District, Rotary District 5170 Membership Chair

  • Rene Williams Bay Area Clean Environment

  • George Yang Chair of Sister City Committee of Menlo Park


Speakers & Guests









  • Ro Khanna US Congressman

  • John Pimental Entrepreneur, Founder of Common Sense Party

  • Charles Liu President, Citizens for Better Community (CBC)

  • Cheryl Cook-Kallio National board member for the Center for Civic Education, Pleasanton formal mayor

  • Gilbert Wong Cupertino former mayor, Trustee Foothill-De Anza Community College

  • Jerry Liu Trustee of Cupertino School board

  • Nancy Smith Sunnyvale City Council

  • Michael Goldman Sunnyvale City Council

  • Peter Kuo Vice-Chair, CA Republican Party

  • Michael Tsai Trustee, Milpitas School board

  • Felix Wu Campaign strategist

  • Susan Landry Campbell Vice Mayor

  • Rahul Vasanth Cupertino Library Commissioner, delegate of Santa Clara County Democratic Party

  • Ava Chiao high school teacher, delegate in teacher’s union. 

  • Ruhua You mechanical engineer manager, for renewable energy, Fremont High PTA, board of Silicon Valley Chinese Association

  • Eugene Bradley Founder, Silicon Valley Transit User Group

  • Liana Crabtree Chair, Cupertino Library Commission

  • Will Reusch HS teacher in Los Angeles, Moderator of Heterodox Academy K-12 Education Group

YAPA Fellows​​

  • Bennie Chang

  • Nelson Mu

  • Henry Shi

  • Andrew Lu

bottom of page